Awkward

Awkward

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
18
3
Rate this:
After shunning Jaime, the school nerd, on her first day at a new middle school, Penelope Torres tries to blend in with her new friends in the art club, until the art club goes to war with the science club, of which Jaime is a member.
Publisher: New York : Yen Press, 2015
Edition: First Yen Press edition
ISBN: 9780316381307
0316381306
9780316381321
0316381322
Branch Call Number: JGN CHMAKOVA, S
Characteristics: 210 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
katbee Sep 02, 2017

This is a wonderful book in so many ways. The drawings are fun and expressive. The limited color palette gives a nice finish to the artwork without being overpowering. The storyline and characters' reactions are fabulous and relatable. Although it is written for a middle grade audience, I though... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

katbee Sep 02, 2017

This is a wonderful book in so many ways. The drawings are fun and expressive. The limited color palette gives a nice finish to the artwork without being overpowering. The storyline and characters' reactions are fabulous and relatable. Although it is written for a middle grade audience, I thought a lot of the situations are reflected in adult life as well. For example: social anxiety, competition and group interactions, and communication issues are things we deal with regardless of age. At the end of the book the author has included a neat section explaining her creative process.

JCLStefanieE Jul 08, 2017

This book really gets what it's like to start at a new school. I loved the vibrant illustrations and subtle humor. It's a very enjoyable read and I would suggest it as a gift for a girl or boy in middle school or a person who is interested in creating graphic novels. The author includes step-by-step instructions of her writing and drawing process at the end of the book that are simple to understand and fun to read.

s
saraprins
Jun 22, 2017

awkward is a very relatable book. personally i have also been bullied in my life so with this book it shows that bully's aren't as strong as how they seem. but the awkward part is what made me love it. it is always awkward when you mom use's that "tone". it made me crack up
this whole book shows what school is like and even if you don't think the same as others there is always that little thing that puts everyone together.

KateHillier Mar 03, 2017

This book was adorable. The pain of middle school is apparent here with Penelope trying to be cool but also trying to make friends and fixating on one little thing after another. The plot about teamwork and acceptance is fantastic but I think the stand out for me is how diverse the characters are in both interests and just in being them. Cooperation is essential here and I love that that's highlighted above everything here.

I also love the manga style art. Just have to stop to mention that too.

samdog123 Jan 15, 2017

A new graphic series by Svetlana Chamkova, Canadian artist and author of Dramacon and Night School. This is the first in the series and is nominated for a Forest of Reading award for 2017. Another title, Brave, was released in December of 2016. In this book, the Artistic group at a middle school faces off with the Science club--the ultimate prize is a booth at the school fair. The book moves along at a good pace and I liked the main characters, Peppi and Jaime.

AL_CATHERINE Oct 10, 2016

Really cute and funny! This bright graphic novel perfectly captures the awkwardness that is middle school! Perfect for fans of Smile and Sisters!

AL_WENDY Sep 13, 2016

Ugh! Falling flat on your face on your first day at a new school--what could be worse?

This is a great graphic novel about middle school and all its awkwardness, friendship, school drama, and the like. Also, this book has a ton of diverse characters to celebrate! Fans of Smile, Drama, Sisters, and Roller Girl will love this.

a
aaronlu
Jul 21, 2016

The front cover makes it look like a girl's book but when you start reading it, everything changes! The book is amazing and if you haven't read it yet you should. Not only is the book very good but it's also pretty inspiring.

LPL_JennyC Jul 02, 2016

Peppi moves to a new middle school and runs into a boy in the hall, knocking him down. When she’s called his “nerder girlfriend” by kids in the hall, she pushes him down and runs away. And then she feels AWFUL! She finds comfort in her new friends in Art Club, but making things right with this shy boy, Jamie, is the only thing that will truly make her feel better. Until then she learns what feeling awkward is like again and again as the two keep getting paired up. Chmakova’s illustrations have a manga flair that adds to the intense feelings of the characters. Fans of Smile and Roller Girl will love this quirky new graphic novel!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

s
saraprins
Jun 22, 2017

saraprins thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 14

CorteMaderaStaff_Judi thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 13

i
indigo_panda_388
Jul 27, 2016

indigo_panda_388 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top