Deadly Lullaby

Deadly Lullaby

A Thriller

eBook - 2015
Rate this:
INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD FINALIST * For readers of Harlan Coben and Robert Crais, Robert McClure's rollicking crime novel of family and felony takes readers on a relentless thrill ride through the L.A. underworld.

Fresh off a nine-year stint in San Quentin, career hitman Babe Crucci plans to finally go straight and enjoy all life has to offer--after he pulls one or two more jobs to shore up his retirement fund. More than anything, Babe is dead set on making up for lost time with his estranged son, Leo, who just so happens to be a rising star in the LAPD.

The road to reconciliation starts with tickets to a Dodgers game. But first, Leo needs a little help settling a beef over some gambling debts owed to a local mobster. This kind of thing is child's play for Babe-until a sudden twist in the negotiations leads to a string of corpses and a titanic power shift in gangland politics. With the sins of his father piling up and dragging him down, Leo throws himself into the investigation of a young prostitute's murder, a case that makes him some unlikely friends--and some brutally unpredictable enemies.

Caught up in a clash of crime lords, weaving past thugs with flamethrowers who expend lives like pocket change, Babe and Leo have one last chance to face the ghosts of their past--if they want to live long enough to see their future.

Praise for Deadly Lullaby

"Robert McClure is the real deal, an author who produces pulp fiction the way Chandler and Hammett did--with depth and heart." --Otto Penzler, editor, The Best American Mystery Stories

"Too compelling to put down." --Roger Hobbs, bestselling author of Ghostman

" Deadly Lullaby is, at heart, a father-son story, but one in which the father is a ruthless gangster and the son a cynical cop. I loved both of these flawed characters. Robert McClure has written a rousing debut, elevated by pitch-perfect dialogue and a whiplash pace." --Peter Swanson, author of The Kind Worth Killing

"The writing is excellent, and the family relationship offers an interesting angle." --I Heart Reading
Publisher: New York : Alibi, [2015]
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9781101884980
1101884983
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Call Number: eBook

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top