The Girls

The Girls

A Novel

Audiobook CD - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Girls-- their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong-- are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged-- a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction-- and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
Publisher: New York, New York : Random House Audio : Books on Tape, [2016]
Edition: Unabridged
Copyright Date: ℗2016
ISBN: 9780147523990
0147523990
9780147524010
0147524016
Characteristics: 8 audio discs (10 hr.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in
digital,optical
audio file,CD audio
Additional Contributors: McClain, Cady 1969-
Call Number: CD CLINE, E

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
therhiannamater
Mar 20, 2017

I guess technically 3.5. The premise was definitely something I was exciting for with my macabre fascination of cults and such. But this really felt like for the first 80% of the book, nothing really happened. The main character wasn't interesting at all and I kept waiting for her big character arc that never really came. I wanted this to be much darker I suppose. I was waiting for the tipping point of "oh here we go..." of the sick thrill ride, but it was like riding a roller coaster that only goes the speed limit. The last half of the book was definitely better than the first, but I was also listening the audiobook so I felt like I just had to finish it. Had I been reading the physical copy, I likely would've sent it to the graveyard stack of books that are 20% finished.

d
dutcheja
Sep 03, 2016

I eagerly waited for this book to come out. I have been intrigued by the Manson stories for a very long time and have read just about everything there is out there on the crimes, Charles Manson and the Manson followers. Unfortunately this book didn't work for me. I had a very hard time getting in to it, I thought it moved very slow and I just couldn't connect with the characters. The story switches back and forth between back then and now and that didn't work for me either.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top