The Scarlet Fig

The Scarlet Fig

Or, Slowly Through A Land of Stone, Book Three of the Vergil Magus Series

eBook - 2012
Rate this:
"The tale ends with a bang . . . [but Davidson is] far more remarkable as a stylist . . . [He] loves the language, and plays with it . . . spins a narrative thread that twists and turns . . . the result is rhythmic and sonorous." -- Tom Easton, Analog, August 1987 Nominated for the 1987 Nebula Award for Best Novel.
The Last Manuscript of a Master It began with an accident, as if Fate had a plan for Vergil Magus . . . After his trials in the Very Rich City of Averno but before his crowning achievement of a certain magic mirror, the great sorcerer and alchemist finds himself on a journey nothing short of epic. Sure he is slated for death in Rome, Vergil seeks safety in the far reaches of the Empire--and finds a world teeming with wonders and magical oddities. The "unhistoric" sea adventure is a deft mix of fantastic fact and fable, showcasing the author's keen attention to the often forgotten connections between them.
Publisher: [Cincinnati, Ohio] : F+W Media, 2012
ISBN: 9781440552762
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource
Call Number: eBook


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at DCL

To Top