Just Grace and the Double Surprise

Just Grace and the Double Surprise

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu on our Fall 2010 list Just Grace and the Snack Attack "New characters, such as the hyperactive "Owen 1," keep the story fresh, but readers will most enjoy Grace's angst-ridden first-person narrative, delivered with her usual comic touch. Cartoon illustrations (and directions for creating a zine) enliven the text and help to showcase Grace's artistic talent." --Booklist "[R]eaders will appreciate her straightforward, honest discussion of strong emotions they'll be sure to relate to." --Horn Book Just Grace Goes Green "Girls who are settling into chapter book series featuring Clementine and Judy Moody will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations. . . . Harper's sketches add interest and break up the text, leaving the new reader time to pause and smile. "-Horn Book Just Grace Walks the Dog "Grace's cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. . .Her ruminations about the ways that people -- and animals -- may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers." -- Kirkus Reviews "Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book." -- Library Media Connection Still Just Grace "Harper's strength is her understanding of third-grade angst...she explores with a comic touch...Suggest this reassuring look at friendship and family to fans of Judy Moody and Clementine." -- Booklist "Dealing with the problems of friendship and change in a lively way...a good addition to the middle-grade shelves." -- School Library Journal Just Grace Booksense Summer Selection 2007 "The kids come alive in the story, and Harper, the author of several previous books, including the graphic novel Fashion Kitty (2005), enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Equally delightful is the wry voice of energetic Just Grace, who never misses an opportunity to point out the injustices life has dealt her. She's a hero through and through. Give this to fans of Ann Nagda's Meow Means Mischief (2003) or anyone looking for a funny book." -- Booklist, starred review "Grace is a funny, mischievous protagonist who should easily find a place in the pantheon of precocious third graders. Fans of Amber Brown, Clementine, and Judy Moody will love her." -- School Library Journal
In this seventh installment in the Just Grace series, any day now Grace's best friend in the whole world, Mimi, is going to be getting a brand-new sister. Grace is really excited, plus nervous, plus worried, plus happy all mixed together. But both Grace and Mimi are in for a surprise when they find out that Mimi's family is not adopting a brand-new sister -- and instead she is getting a brand-new brother. (Oh, brother!) And to heighten the excitement even further, Grace is in for another big surprise!
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011
ISBN: 9780547573861
0547573863
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource (176 pages)
Call Number: eBook

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top