The Vespertine

The Vespertine

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"[A] richly conceived historical romance. . . . Fans of Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty will find themselves enchanted by this atmospheric tale." -- Bulletin "For teens who enjoy gothic romances, there is much to savor." -- VOYA (5Q, 4P) "Mitchell depicts Victorian middle-class society with real flair. Her descriptions of the girls ring vibrantly true." -- Kirkus Reviews "A lush, romantic tale blending the Victorian era with the paranormal" -- teensreadtoo.com "This historical paranormal romance, taking place in 1889 Baltimore, is equal parts vivid period detail, gothic melodrama, and foreboding premonitions coming true. . . . An absorbing tale." -- Booklist "Sheer pleasure from beginning to end." -- TeenReads.com "Written in a passionate, inviting voice, THE VESPERTINE is a rich, historical novel of otherworldly power, forbidden romance, and questionable motives. From the very first line, readers will be swept up in Amelia's plight to discover her own powers and find the courage to face her fears, her blossoming love, and even accusations of murder." -- Aprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Wings and Spells "I savored every word of THE VESPERTINE; I knew it was an amazing book from the first page and I was entranced until the very last. Saundra Mitchell's descriptions are almost truer than truth -- you feel them rather than know them." -- Carrie Ryan, New York Times Bestselling Author of the critically-acclaimed The Forest of Hands and Teeth and The Dead-Tossed Waves "Dark and luxurious with rich, compelling characters and a perfect blend of the mysterious and the fantastic, Saundra Mitchell's THE VESPERTINE is Victorian gothic at its finest -- at once evoking the lyricism of Bronte, the heart-pounding of Poe and a vivid, enticing voice that is entirely her own." -- Sarah MacLean, Author of The Season and 9 Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake "Equal parts vivid period detail, gothic melodrama, and foreboding premonitions coming true . . . an absorbing tale of a headstrong and passionate (but not anachronistically so) woman seeking her future." -- Booklist
It's the summer of 1889, and Amelia van den Broek is new to Baltimore and eager to take in all the pleasures the city has to offer. But her gaiety is interrupted by disturbing, dreamlike visions she has only at sunset -- visions that offer glimpses of the future. Soon, friends and strangers alike call on Amelia to hear her prophecies. However, a forbidden romance with Nathaniel, an artist, threatens the new life Amelia is building in Baltimore. This enigmatic young man is keeping secrets of his own -- still, Amelia finds herself irrepressibly drawn to him. When one of her darkest visions comes to pass, Amelia's world is thrown into chaos. And those around her begin to wonder if she's not the seer of dark portents, but the cause. This book features a teaser chapter from Saundra Mitchell's third novel, The Springsweet.
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011
ISBN: 9780547573854
0547573855
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource (304 pages)
Call Number: eBook

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Fredinthelibrary Apr 20, 2011

I loved the play between the silly girl in love and the gothic mystery of the supernatural. Not everything rang true for me but the story is still haunting me.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top