Sophie Hartley, On Strike

Sophie Hartley, On Strike

eBook - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Funny family hijinks explode into pure hilarity with lively dialogue and a simple plot." Kirkus Reviews "Fans of Cleary, Hurwitz, and the Judy Moody series will enjoy this snapshot of real family life." Horn Book "Well-developed characters, smooth dialogue, and a satisfying ending will leave [readers] eager to read more of Sophie's escapades." School Library Journal "Greene delivers with humor, sharp dialogue, and a family dynamic that remains both loving and real." Booklist, ALA "[An] entertaining portrayal of domestic unrest." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "This solidly middle-class family will remind many of the Quimbys." Horn Book Guide, Pointer
Sophie is supposed to help out around the house, and that's bad enough. But then her mother comes up with a job chart, and all of a sudden Sophie has a whole list of new chores to do. Some of them, like cleaning the downstairs toilet, are gross! "Menial," says big brother Thad, who somehow manages to avoid doing any of his own new jobs. "No fair!" says Sophie. Sophie's father went on strike when his beliefs were on the line. Now Sophie sees no alternative but to stand up for what she believes inches The ensuing battle of wills threatens to defeat even the indomitable Sophie. Will the Hartleys have to eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for every meal from now on? Will they ever have happy family times together again?
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2006
ISBN: 9780547708058
054770805X
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource (160 pages)
Call Number: eBook

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top