A Dangerous Age

A Dangerous Age

A Novel

eBook - 2008
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Gilchrist "gives this novel a humanity easily embraced by the reader. [Her] trademark supple prose and droll sense of humor are on full display." -- Booklist, starred review
Ellen Gilchrist is one of America's most celebrated and respected authors, a classic writer in the tradition of Eudora Welty, Flannery O'Connor, and Elizabeth Spencer. The author of more than twenty books, she was awarded the National Book Award for her short story collection Victory Over Japan. Now, with her first novel in more than a decade, she returns in top form. A Dangerous Age tells the story of the women of the Hand family, three cousins in a Southern dynasty rich with history and tradition who are no strangers to either controversy or sadness. By turns humorous and heartbreaking, the novel is a celebration of the strength of these women, and of others like them. In her characteristically clear and direct prose, with its wry, no-nonsense approach to the world and the people who inhabit it, Gilchrist gives voice to women on a collision course with a distant war that, in truth, is never more than a breath away. As the Washington Post has said, "To say that Ellen Gilchrist can write is to say that Placido Domingo can sing. All you need to do is listen."
Publisher: [New York] : Algonquin Books, 2008
ISBN: 9781565126626
Characteristics: data file
1 online resource (245 pages)
Call Number: eBook

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
cheriemoses
Jan 22, 2012

This tale becomes tedious. The constant focus on sexuality for the entire beginning of the book serves little but to force the reader to slog through pages to find some gripping thread to the story. Gilchrist has some real wonderful moments in her fiction but I can barely finish this book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top