Arcanum Unbounded

Arcanum Unbounded

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:

An all-new 120-page Stormlight Archive novella, "Edgedancer," will be the crown jewel of Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection , the first book of short fiction by #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson.

The collection will include nine works in all. The first eight are:

"The Hope of Elantris" (Elantris)
"The Eleventh Metal" (Mistborn)
"The Emperor's Soul" (Elantris)
"Allomancer Jak and the Pits of Eltania, Episodes 28 through 30" (Mistborn)
"White Sand" (excerpt; Taldain)
"Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell" (Threnody)
"Sixth of Dusk" (First of the Sun)
"Mistborn: Secret History" (Mistborn)

These wonderful works, originally published on and elsewhere individually, convey the expanse of the Cosmere and tell exciting tales of adventure Sanderson fans have come to expect, including the Hugo Award-winning novella, "The Emperor's Soul" and an excerpt from the graphic novel "White Sand."

Arcanum Unbounded will also contain the 120-page Stormlight Archive novella "Edgedancer," which will appear in this book for the first time anywhere. It is a story of Lift, taking place between Words of Radiance and the forthcoming Oathbringer .

Finally, this collection includes essays and illustrations for the various planetary systems in which the stories are set.

Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson

The Cosmere

The Stormlight Archive
The Way of Kings
Words of Radiance
Edgedancer (Novella)

The Mistborn trilogy
Mistborn: The Final Empire
The Well of Ascension
The Hero of Ages

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series
Alloy of Law
Shadows of Self
Bands of Mourning

Arcanum Unbounded

Other Cosmere novels

The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series
Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians
The Scrivener's Bones
The Knights of Crystallia
The Shattered Lens
The Dark Talent

The Rithmatist series
The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson

The Reckoners

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Publisher: New York : Tom Doherty Associates Book, 2016
ISBN: 9780765391179
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Call Number: eBook

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Apr 08, 2019

Such a good book! It really expands your knowledge of the Cosmere.

Nov 07, 2017

While this was an amazing novella anthology taking place on several worlds in Sanderson's Cosmere universe, if you haven't read through Elantris, the first 2 Stormlight books and the first 3 Mistborn books, I would hold off before reading. While I don't mind being spoiled and wasn't particularly bothered by it, there are definite spoilers for a few series that might warrant caution. I had already read Secret History, but I can't recommend it enough to fans of the mistborn series. You don't 'have' to read it to get the main story, but it adds a great amount to it. Among my favorites were 'The Emperors Soul', 'Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell', and '6th of Dusk'. 'Edgedancer' takes place in the Stormlight Archive setting world of Roshar, and is about a street urchin who helps determine the ruler of a bureaucratic country. 'Emperor's Soul' takes place in a world where magic allows one to change the shape, history and even 'soul' of any thing or person with elaborate stamps. The main character is a master 'forger' who is imprisoned and awaiting death for illegal magics, commissioned to forge an artificial soul for an Emperor suffering from brain death. 'Shadows for Silence' takes place on the hellish world of Threnody, where people live alongside the violent ghosts of their deceased. The ghost's are only fully visible at night, and will brutally kill anyone they see that lights a fire, moves too quickly, or sheds the blood of another. 6th of Dusk, my favorite story in the book, takes place on world of islands covered in deadly plants and animals. The story revolves around Dusk, one of the last of a solitary culture of island rangers...those taught to survive the murderous plants and monsters of each island in order to forage and trade with the more habitable mainlands. Think of a blend of 'The Witcher' series (novels and games), The 'Avatar' movie and 'Last of the Mohicans'. The main plot revolves around Dusk surviving and helping another to survive the traps of the island, but the overall story is about the effects of technology and change on society. If you are caught up on the Mistborn hexology and the Elantris novel, Arcanum Unbounded is a must read.

Apr 08, 2017

Really great stories in this book. This is a book of short stories or novellas. This book, in a sense, ties all his different series together. Sanderson has written many different series, with different magic systems on different worlds. This book has stories that take place in the different worlds of his different series. It says in the forward that the stories were meant to stand on their own without needing to read the other series. However, I found myself thinking during many of the stories how glad I was that I had read the series before this story because I felt I got so much more out of the story, There were stories that took place in worlds in series I have not read and I still enjoyed those stories. Sanderson is an amazing writer, particularly in the way he is able to create characters, cultures, and magic systems and then explain them in ways that are entertaining, clear, and work. No fighting the movie when reading a Sanderson book for me.

forbesrachel Feb 09, 2017

Brandon Sanderson has written about many different worlds, and fantastical settings, peoples, and magic systems. Most of these are part of his Cosmere; the overarching universe which will one day be the focus of a series. While hints are abundant in his currently published works, they are not always easy to spot, if you don't know they are there to begin with. Arcanum Unbounded is the first work to give a better idea of what we might expect in the future. The book is split into the parts of the Cosmere. Each part introduces us to that realm before diving into a short story or two (most of these are side stories to his other works, meaning this is a book meant for those who have read at least a few of them). As expected, all of the stories are brilliant, this includes one about a brand new world where humans have a symbiotic relationship with certain birds that exhibit "talents". Arcanum Unbounded is well worth the time to read, both for its individual tales from the places we already love, and for its taste of what is to come.

Nov 25, 2016

I don't even have to read this to rate it five stars. It's by Brandon Sanderson. Enough said.


Add Age Suitability
Apr 08, 2019

Bacon_Dragon thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at DCL

To Top