Pachinko

Pachinko

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
23
1
In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781455569656
1455569658
9781455563913
1455563919
1455569658
9781478967439
9781478907121
9781455569496
1455563935
9781455563937
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource (490 pages)
Call Number: eBook

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Happy Mother's Day!
lt_bibliosara May 15, 2018

"Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity."

August 13, 2018

Comment
lindab1111 May 03, 2018

It felt like I have read this book before. Different country, different names but the same basic story of families being forced to flee villages, women's plight of trying to find love with a man who has money, and so on. Perhaps I'm thinking of Lisa See or Amy Tan. Anyway, I stayed with it till t... Read More »

List - 20 Mile Book Club
DCLbookclubs Apr 03, 2017

Book to be discussed at the August 22, 2018, meeting.

Best Historical Fiction Finalist


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

somanybooksHPL Jul 05, 2018

A long book, that is a quick read as it is seamlessly written. A story that could be about almost any immigrant experience. Historical, current, love, drama, mystery all wrapped into one.

k
kwsmith
May 27, 2018

This sweeping character drama is set in Korea and Japan between 1910 and 1990. During this time, Japan had colonized Korea and the Koreans living in Japan were often treated as lower class humans. The suffering, perseverance, and ultimate success of stoic Korean women is a central theme in this book. Richly detailed characterization dramatically brings this fascinating chapter of East Asian history to life.

r
ryanosu
May 25, 2018

2017 National Book Award

lindab1111 May 03, 2018

It felt like I have read this book before. Different country, different names but the same basic story of families being forced to flee villages, women's plight of trying to find love with a man who has money, and so on. Perhaps I'm thinking of Lisa See or Amy Tan. Anyway, I stayed with it till the end.

j
jr3083
May 02, 2018

I really enjoyed this book. It’s long, and not for nothing does Lee cite Dickens in her epigram to Part 1 of the book (“Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit answered to, in strongest conjuration”). The book evoked Dickens in its sweep and length, and I found it entirely engrossing, luxuriating in a whole Easter Sunday to sit and finish it in one big gulp.

Read my complete review at:
https://residentjudge.wordpress.com/2018/05/02/pachinko-by-min-jin-lee/

ArapahoeJulia Apr 13, 2018

This book was incredible, I loved reading it. The author gave every character a voice, you even got perspectives from characters that didn't end up being main players, which gave the reader a more well rounded story.

p
peacebenow
Apr 04, 2018

Story follows a families journey from Korea to Japan through the 1900s. The effect of Japanese culture gave new life to some Koreans but also was very limited by Japanese Culture and their seemingly ingrained views. Would like to understand the history of 1900s Korea a bit more. People want to preserve their culture yet there are so many refugees in the world mostly caused by war/bad politics..... a lot of food for thought and the importance of kindness and tolerance all over our world. The book did slow a bit as the story changed between characters in the 2nd half only to pick up again once story line re-emerged. Very enlightening!

DPLjennyp Mar 27, 2018

Dickensian tale of a Korean family living in Japan through the generations. Sweeping and lyrical, to be savored.

g
gvbooklover
Mar 26, 2018

Epic story spanning from PreWW2 to 70's - story of immigrants (Koreans in Japan). I read it until late at night.

c
cknightkc
Mar 23, 2018

PACHINKO is a sprawling saga that follows 4 generations of a Korean family who immigrate to Japan in the mid-twentieth century. This lengthy piece of historical fiction gets its title from a popular gambling pastime of Japan which is a cross between pinball and a slot machine. This “game of chance” is introduced midway through the book and plays an integral role to the story and character arcs, but what’s more, author Min Jin Lee deftly uses it as a metaphor for life. PACHINKO offers a fascinating look at history, culture, race, class, identity, and family. Although the final third of the book didn’t “grab” me as much as the rest, I would still recommend it, especially for fans of character-driven period/foreign dramas.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices

t
Tjad2L
Aug 23, 2017

Sexual Content: explicit sexual content

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top