A Grave Matter

A Grave Matter

A Lady Darby Mystery

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"Scotland, 1830. Following the death of her dear friend, Lady Kiera Darby is in need of a safe haven. Returning to her childhood home, Kiera hopes her beloved brother, Trevor, and the merriment of the Hogmanay Ball will distract her. But when a caretaker is murdered and a grave is disturbed at nearby Dryburgh Abbey, Kiera is once more thrust into the cold grasp of death. While Kiera knows that aiding in another inquiry will only further tarnish her reputation, her knowledge of anatomy could make the difference in solving the case. But agreeing to investigate means Kiera must deal with the complicated emotions aroused in her by inquiry agent Sebastian Gage. When Gage arrives, he reveals that the incident at the Abbey was not the first--some fiend is digging up old bones and holding them for ransom. Now Kiera and Gage must catch the grave robber and put the case to rest ... before another victim winds up six feet under"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Berkley Trade, 2014
ISBN: 9780698140325
069814032X
9780425253694
0425253694
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Call Number: eBook

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
nidofito
Jan 22, 2018

I'm head over heels in love with Keira and Gage. I love how relentless he is and I love how caring she is. On the outside, she comes across as pretty moody and he as a rogue, but they're so much fun to read.

m
maipenrai
Dec 05, 2016

(The third book in the Lady Darby Mystery series)

a
AmandaG7
Dec 23, 2015

I've really been enjoying this series and this one is my favorite so far! It is a great blend of mystery, romance, and historical fiction. A good pick for fans of Tasha Alexander or Deanna Raybourn, but be warned that these are a little bit on the darker side.

lbarkema Aug 25, 2015

This was the best written of the 5 I read for the finalist in the category of "Novel with Strong Romantic Elements" for the Maggie Awards, but for it being a suspense novel, I sure read it really slow. It was a bit long IMO, and I just was never wanting to get back to the book immediately. Oh well, the characters and time period were still lovely. Because I started with the third book and the romance gets some closure, I don't really feel the need to read the first two in the series. I would still recommend this to people who like a historical mystery mixed with a touch of romance.

n
nidofito
Oct 12, 2014

Possible spoilers

They truly make such a cute couple! They're perfect for each other. Such a wonderful series and I was so surprised and excited that the series doesn't end here. I was hoping that the series would continue even after their marriage. One teeny tiny complaint I have was that it took a little too long for the duo to stumble upon some answers to the grave diggings/murder. I realize it was done to make the mystery seem more realistic (you can't always solve it in a couple of days) and the author had to also partially resolve the relationship between Gage and Kiera during that time, but it was starting to get a little frustrating with the lack of progress and the continued grave diggings. Regardless, it was an amazing read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top